The Dreamsnatcher by Abi Elphinstone

One of the shortlisted books in the Hooked on Books category of the Coventry Inspiration Book Awards 2017, it’s by far the scariest adventure in the pile, but then I still watch Dr Who with a cushion just in case the Cybermen show up.

Moll Pecksniff finds herself drawn deeper and deeper into the forest by her recurring nightmare, filled with drums and rattles. Little does she know, the Dreamsnatcher is calling her and his reasons are as sinister as they come.

As Moll is finally told the truth behind how she came to live in the Ancient Wood with Oak, Mooshie and the other gypsies, she finds herself in grave danger. She must summon all of her courage if she is to defeat the Dreamsnatch. With her wildcat, Gryff, and her friend, Alfie, she seeks out the meanings of the bone readings and sets out to ensure the Bone Murmur isn’t destroyed…

From the gruesome opening, to the nail-biting ending, this book had me on the edge on my seat, with it’s magic, mystery and action packed adventure. Moll’s feisty, outspoken character springs to life off the page, followed swiftly by the darkness that seeks to destroy her. An outstanding debut that I’m delighted is a series; I know exactly which pupil I’m going to lend it to first!

img_1344

Great for fans of Harry Potter, Michelle Harrison and Eva Ibbotson.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s