The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon

A deeply moving story of life in an Australian detention facility for refugees and asylum seekers, where hope comes from powerful imagination and stories.

Subhi has never stepped foot Outside. He was born in the detention centre. It’s red dust, gritty food, family tent and fences are the only life he has ever known. His days are spent as a runner with Eli, his best friend, looking after his Maá, and annoying his sister, Queenie. His nights are spent waiting for the Night Sea to come and bring him treasures from his Ba, who will join them soon.

Jimmie lives at the top of the hill, with her Dad and brother. Unable to read, she longs for someone to tell her mother’s stories again, as she rubs the bone sparrow charm at her neck. She heard that the trucks rolling into the Centre take the children there bikes. All she wants is a new bike; the last one her Mum bought is too small.

One night, with the bone sparrow for luck, curiosity beats Jimmie and she goes to see what the Centre is really like. She finds the weak links and she’s in.

Subhi hears the Night Sea calling and is outside his tent. This time the treasure appears to be a girl, one that definitely doesn’t belong in the centre.

The two strike up a friendship, based on Subhi’s ability to read Jimmie’s mums book of stories. But can they save each other?

A devastatingly beautiful, enlightening heart wrenching tale of the invisible and ignored people in our world today.

img_1761

Great for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, Looking at the Stars and Welcome to Nowhere.

Advertisements

One thought on “The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon

  1. solution says:

    Pretty nice pоst. I just stumbled upon your weblоg and wanted to ѕay that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing youг
    blog pߋsts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and
    I hope you write again veгy soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s