The Explorer by Katherine Rundell, illustrated by Hannah Horn

Publication Date: 10th August 2017

IMG_2801

High above the Amazon, four children are on a flight that will change their lives. While Fred looks longingly at the lush, green jungle below him, Con sits absolutely not looking out of the window, and Lila tends to her little brother, Max. When the pilot takes ill, the plane crashes into the jungle and the four children must find their way through the vast, dangerous landscape they’ve plummeted into, to the safety of Manaus.

A rip-roaring story of survival, friendship and love through the Amazon with four children who couldn’t be more different. Dreamer Fred finds himself following in the footsteps of his heroes. Con is distant and unpredictable. Lila is as caring and practical as a mother, while Max is adorable in his defiance of the perils they must face. Watching them grow individually and as a group through their trials was as rich and wondrous as the environment they travel through. Katherine Rundell’s description pulls you down beneath the canopy as quickly as our survivors’ plane dropped them into it.

This truly is a book for children of all ages; it has the timeless feel of a classic.

Great for fans of Boy X, The Girl of Ink and Stars, and The Elephant Thief.

ebook proof courtesy of Bloomsbury Children’s Books.

Advertisements

One thought on “The Explorer by Katherine Rundell, illustrated by Hannah Horn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s