The Smoking Hourglass by Jennifer Bell

IMG_3497

We’re transported straight back into the action with Ivy, Seb and Valian, as they use liquid shadow to uncover Selena Grimes evil plans aboard the MV Outlander. After narrowly escaping capture by her new henchman, they know they have to find The Jar of Shadows before she does.

Meanwhile, Grandma Sylvie has remembered something that may help them, an image on a door of a smoking hourglass. The only problem is she can’t remember where it is or what it means.

Can Ivy, Seb and Valian unravel the clues in time to stop the Dirge from destroying Lundinor?

A brilliantly addictive, page turner of a mystery. With fantastical characters and settings brought gloriously to life by both Jennifer Bell’s spellbinding writing and Karl James Mountford’s gloriously dark illustrations, Lundinor is one of my favourite places to escape to. I love the use of myth and nursery rhymes throughout as keys to unlock the mystery. To get the most from the second adventure in Lundinor, I’d recommend you read The Crooked Sixpence first.

Great for fans of The City Of Secret Rivers, Harry Potter and The Spiderwick Chronicles.

Many thanks to Penguin Random House UK and Toppsta for sending me a copy for my school bookshelf.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Smoking Hourglass by Jennifer Bell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s