Journey Across the Hidden Islands by Sarah Beth Durst

Publication date: 4 April 2017

img_1337

When twin sisters, Seika and Ji-Lin are reunited on their 12th birthday, neither realise that their training is over and they are about to embark on The Emperor’s Journey with Alejan, the winged lion escorting them.

All three have been trained in accordance with Himitsu tradition that has stood for over 200 years, and each knows their role on what should be an easy passage to the island of Kazan; Seika to lead the rituals on the way, and Ji-Lin and Alejan as her guardians. They dream of being the heroes in the songs and stories that will be told once their Journey is complete.

Tradition doesn’t hold, and they find themselves on a perilous adventure, where koji are numerous and their safety barrier is faltering, allowing more of the monsters through to their islands, and a ship that should never have found their waters. Will they even make it to renew the promise with the dragon who protects the islands they call home?

Durst has created a beautiful world with amazing creatures and savage beasts that awe and terrify her heroines and readers in equal measure. The Princesses and their companions are spirited, plucky and easy to believe in. A stunning story of bravery, self-awareness and the need to question long held truths.

Great for fans of Narnia, The Emerald Atlas, Cornelia Funke and fantasy.

ebook proof courtesy of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children’s Book Group via Netgalley.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s