Black Cats and Butlers by Janine Beacham

Black Cats and Butlers by Janine Beacham

Publication date: 9th March 2017

img_1539

Rose Raventhorpe loves exploring the Skittleways of her beloved Yorke, with her butler, Argyle, who teaches her about the feline guardians of the city. On a morning walk on her 12th birthday, with her best friend, Emily, Rose notices that some of the cat statues are missing, and is desperate to discuss their disappearance with Argyle, but there is no time, as she must prepare for her party. Before it begins, Argyle is murdered on the doorstep in front of her and she vows to bring his killer to justice.

With the help of Silvercrest Hall, and the Guardians of Yorke, Rose plunges headfirst into a murder-mystery that keeps you guessing until the end. With plenty of plot twists, an interesting ensemble of supporting characters, and a hint at the supernatural, this was a lovely read, in a genre that already has some big hitters.

Great for fans of The Sinclair Mysteries, Murder Most Unladylike, Nancy Drew and good-old fashioned murder-mysteries.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s